OpenStack Technical Committee Election Results

John Jainschigg, OpenStack: Now - April 25, 2014 -

With the release of Icehouse, OpenStack governance is also passing through its regular cycle of change. The latest is the election of new members to the Technical Committee.

As you may already know, OpenStack’s Technical Committee (TC) provides technical leadership for OpenStack as a whole. The TC has authority over which Programs are accepted or declined, decides on issues affecting multiple programs, convenes as an ultimate appeals board for technical decisions and more generally, enforces OpenStack ideals of Openness, Transparency, Commonality, Integration, Quality, etc. It operates independently of the OpenStack Foundation Board of Directors, within the framework of the Foundation’s governance model.

The Technical Committee comprises 13 seats, which are partially renewed at six month intervals, maintaining continuity. Six seats are elected in the (Northern hemisphere) Fall, and seven seats in the Spring, with nominations held seven weeks before each biannual design summit, and elections three weeks prior (votes tallied by the Condorcet method). The term of service for a Technical Committee member is one year. Technical Committee members are nominated and elected by ATCs – Active Technical Contributors to programs (any Foundation Individual Member who committed a change to a repository under any official OpenStack program over the last two six-month release cycles is considered an ATC).

TC meetings are public — held once a week on IRC, and the Committee maintains an open agenda on the wiki. Non-members are welcome to participate.

Congratulations to the new Technical Committee members, who terms officially end in April, 2015:.

  • Thierry Carrez, OpenStack Release Cycle Management Program Lead

  • Jay Pipes, Mirantis

  • Vishvananda Ishaya, Nebula (also serves on OpenStack Foundation Board)

  • Michael Still, RackSpace

  • Jim Blair, Hewlett-Packard

  • Mark McClain, Yahoo

  • Devananda van der Veen, Hewlett-Packard

These seven join the six incumbents elected with the Havana cycle.

Last but not least, congrats to our own Jay Pipes.

From Virtualization to Containerization
Learn how to move from monolithic to microservices in this free eBook
Download Now
Radio Cloud Native – Week of May 11th, 2022

Every Wednesday, Nick Chase and Eric Gregory from Mirantis go over the week’s cloud native and industry news. This week they discussed: Docker Extensions Artificial Intelligence shows signs that it's reaching the common person Google Cloud TPU VMs reach general availability Google buys MobileX, folds into Google Cloud NIST changes Palantir is back, and it's got a Blanket Purchase Agreement at the Department of Health and Human …

Radio Cloud Native – Week of May 11th, 2022
Where do Ubuntu 20.04, OpenSearch, Tungsten Fabric, and more all come together? In the latest Mirantis Container Cloud releases!

In the last several weeks we have released two updates to Mirantis Container Cloud - versions 2.16 and 2.17, which bring a number of important changes and enhancements. These are focused on both keeping key components up to date to provide the latest functionality and security fixes, and also delivering new functionalities for our customers to take advantage of in …

Where do Ubuntu 20.04, OpenSearch, Tungsten Fabric, and more all come together? In the latest Mirantis Container Cloud releases!
Monitoring Kubernetes costs using Kubecost and Mirantis Kubernetes Engine [Transcript]

Cloud environments & Kubernetes are becoming more and more expensive to operate and manage. In this demo-rich workshop, Mirantis and Kubecost demonstrate how to deploy Kubecost as a Helm chart on top of Mirantis Kubernetes Engine. Lens users will be able to visualize their Kubernetes spend directly in the Lens desktop application, allowing users to view spend and costs efficiently …

Monitoring Kubernetes costs using Kubecost and Mirantis Kubernetes Engine [Transcript]
Service Mesh for Mere Mortals
A Guide to Istio and How to Use Service Mesh Platforms
Getting started with Kubernetes part 2: Creating K8s objects with YAML

Thursday, December 30, 2021 at 10:00 AM PST
Manage your cloud-native container environment with Mirantis Container Cloud

Wednesday, January 5 at 10:00 am PST